Getting Started with ABI-INFORM Collection

Open Parrish Library Homepage

in another browser window to work through this tutorial side by side.

Welcome to this tutorial on ABI-INFORM Collection!

This tutorial will show you:

  • How to access ABI-INFORM Collection
  • What kind of information is available
  • How to do a search

To get started, from the Parrish Library homepage, select the List of Business Databases on the left side of the page.

Then select ABI-INFORM Collection.

What kind of information is available?

ABI-INFORM Collection features over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 dissertations, 14,000 SSRD working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial times, as well as country- and in industry-focused reports and data.

Database Interface

From the homepage, you can search for articles by keyword using the search bar.

You can also use the links at the top of the page to access advanced search options, search by publications, and browse.

Searching

Let’s do an advanced search, click on “Advanced Search.”

To set up this search, complete the following steps

  • Type “climate change” into the search box.
  • Choose “Document title” from the drop down to the right.
  • Make sure “AND” is selected from the next drop down.
  • Type “environmental protection” in the next text field.
  • Check the boxes next to “Full text” and “Peer reviewed.”
  • Select “last 12 months” from the publication date drop down.
  • Click “Search.”

Results

Results are listed by title and can be sorted by relevance, oldest to newest, or newest to oldest using the Sort by drop down.

You can use the filters on the left side of the screen to narrow your results further by source type, publication title, document type, subject and more.

For example,

  • Select “Scholarly Journals” under Source Type.
  • Select “Article” under Document Type.

This should limit your results to about 14 results.

Full Text Options

Click on the “Preview” link under one of the articles to read the abstract before opening the full text.

To open the full text, click on either “Full text” or “Full text PDF.”

Note: The Full text PDF button will open a PDF version of the full text which will include all original images and charts. The Full text button will only include text – no images or charts.

Print, Save, & Download Options

On the right side of the page you’ll find print and save options and related items.

  • To download the full text, click on the Download PDF button.
  • For citation information, click the Cite button.

Note: Always remember to double check the citation in case of errors.

What have you learned?

Now you know how to access ABI-INFORM Collection, what kind of information is available, and how to do a search.

Thank you for using this tutorial!

If you have any questions or feedback, please contact parrlib@purdue.edu