Open Parrish Library Homepage
This tutorial covers how to use Applied Science & Technology Full Text. This tutorial will cover:
- how to use the different search modes in the database.
- how to refine your results
- how to use results to find articles about similar subjects
To begin, from the Parrish Library homepage, select the List of Business Databases on the left side of the page.
Then select Applied Science & Technology Full Text from the list of Parrish databases.
(If you are off campus, it will ask for your Purdue username and password.)
Applied Science & Technology Full Text indexes over 400 English-language periodicals in a wide variety of industrial and mechanical arts, including aeronautics and space science, chemistry, computer technology, construction, engineering, and physics.
From the homepage, you can you can see the variety of search modes available to use.
For this example, we'll use the SmartText searching, which allows you to enter as much text into the search field as you want. You can even search for quotes and whole pages of content to find the original document.
Click SmartText Searching. You'll see that the search bar extends into a box to allow for more text.
Type "solar cells" into the search box.
From here, you will likely see a lot of search results, which we will learn how to refine later in this tutorial.
First, browse the first few search results.
You'll see that many have a link to the PDF Full Text that looks like this:
However, you may find that the full text option is not there, and you'll have an icon that looks like this:
Clicking this icon will allow you to find it elsewhere in Purdue's Collection. If Purdue does not have it, you can always request a source via Interlibrary Loan.
By default, the list of results will be sorted by relevance.
Let's learn how to refine your search to better your results.
On the left-hand side, you can change your search parameters.
Click Full Text to limit your results to only full text articles.
Click Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Change the date range of your results to 1994-2014 by moving the arrowed tabs on date timeline.
You will see a decrease in the number of results, the more and more you refine your search.
On the right-hand side of the page, near the top of your search results, you are given Page Options and Sharing Capabilities.
Click on Page Options. Here, you can change how your results are formatted and how many results you are given on each page.
Click on Share. Here, you can add your results to a folder, share them on social networks, find a permanent link to your results, or even create an e-mail alert for yourself about this search.
If you want more information about an article, you can click on the title.
Let's choose the first result.
You'll find additional options when you open an article.
If the full text is available, you'll see a link to download it on the left side of the page.
On the right side of the page, you can share your result, create notes and citations, and even listen to your article.
Browse these options.
Under Subjects, you'll see a list of related subjects and keywords that you can click on.
Click on Solar Energy.
This will generate a new list of results that you can then refine, which is helpful when gathering resources.
Thank your for using this tutorial!