Open Parrish Library Homepage
This tutorial covers how to use EconLit. This tutorial will cover:
1. How to how to create a search using multiple databases.
2. How to refine your search based on database, type of article, and publication date.
3. How to find out more about an article, find what database an article comes from, and how to save an article or search for later.
To begin, from the Parrish Library homepage, select the List of Business Databases on the left side of the page.
Then select EconLit from the list of Parrish databases.
(If you are off campus, it will ask for your Purdue username and password.)
EconLit contains indexing and abstracting of economics literature, including both domestic and international coverage. Let's learn how to use it.
From the homepage, you can do a basic or advanced search. You can also choose which databases you want to search within.
For this example, we'll add Hospitality and Tourism Management Complete.
From here, check the box next to Hospitality and Tourism Complete. Click save.
Let's do a simple search together.
Select the search box. Search for "casinos and economic impact".
Our search returns a list of articles.
Much of what you need to know about searching EconLit is available from the search results page.
Let's explore the search results together.
Each result has details included. For example, you can find what database the source is found in under the citation.
You can change the databases you're viewing results from on the left-hand side of the results page.
If you look to the left of the results page, you will see different ways to filter your results, such as types of articles or date range.
Click the folder on the right side of one of the results.
You can view these later by clicking "Folder" at the top of the page.
Hover your cursor over the Magnifying Glass, on the right side of one of the results.
By doing this, you'll see more information about the article--including the abstract.
Thank your for using this tutorial!