Getting Started with Hospitality and Tourism Complete

Open Parrish Library Homepage

in another browser window to work through this tutorial side by side.

This tutorial covers how to use Hospitality and Tourism Complete. This tutorial will cover:

- how to use keywords effectively

- how to refine your results

- how to find citations for your results

To begin, from the Parrish Library homepage, select the List of Business Databases on the left side of the page.

Then select Hospitality & Tourism Complete from the list of Parrish databases.

(If you are off campus, it will ask for your Purdue username and password.)

Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.

The interface for this database is similar to other EBSCO hosted databases. It begins with a simple search, but has more advanced options.

Let’s start with a simple keyword search.

Type "casino" into the search box and click search.

This search has over 100,000 search results! Narrowing your search might be a good idea.

If you want to narrow your search, you can add another keyword.

First click on "search history" to display the current search.

Then type a second keyword in the search box. For our example, type “gaming” in the search box and click search.

Once at this page, select both of our keywords by checking the box next to each. Then, click "Search with AND".

Under “Actions,” you can see the various numbers of results we get as we limit our search.

For example, we have our single keyword, which gave us nearly 122,000 results,

Above that, we have our double keyword search, which cut that to around 25,000 results.

After we included both keywords, the number went down to 16,000.

Now we’ve created a much more targeted search. You can manipulate the terms in your search history in this manner at any time.

Another way of narrowing your search is by refining your results.

On the left hand side of the page, we’ll select only Peer Reviewed articles.

As you can see, this cuts our results significantly, giving us less material to sift through.

Now, let's look at the options available with one of the full text articles.

Find the first search result that has a link to a PDF under the title.

Then, click the title to access the article.

There are several tools and options within each article.

You can look on the left hand side for the “Full Text” button. You can download a PDF by clicking there.

On the right hand side of the page, you'll find a list of tools that allow you to add files to your personal folder, as well as e-mail and export full text documents.

You can also view formatted citations for referencing an article later.

To do this, click "cite" out of that list of tools.

These citations are available in several formats. Make sure to scroll down the list to see them all, and choose the one that you need. 

Now you know how to do a search in Hospitality and Tourism Complete, how to use keywords effectively and refine your results, and how to find full text articles and citations. If you have any further questions, contact us at parrlib@purdue.edu

Thank you!