This tutorial covers how to use our eBook collection. This tutorial will cover:

- how to find our Business eBook collection

- how to do a search and browse for titles

- how to refine your search to make it more productive

To begin, from the Parrish Library homepage, select the List of Business Databases on the left side of the page.

Then select eBooks from the list of Parrish databases.

(If you are off campus, it will ask for your Purdue username and password.)

The Purdue Business eBooks collection contains full-text and excerpted books. It also contains summaries of books.

The Business eBooks is a page on the Parrish Articles LibGuide. In the box titled "Business E-Books," you'll find links to our collections. To the right, you'll see little blue information buttons. Click one of these information buttons and read the additional information it provides about that particular collection.

Let's explore a couple of these collections.

Click Safari Books Online to get started.

The Safari Books Online Homepage allows you to browse by category, which is featured on the left-hand side of the page.

Or, you can perform basic and advanced searches by clicking in the white search box in the top right-hand corner of the page.

Let's create a basic search.

Click the search box and type "project management."

You will see a list of book and video titles as well as suggested terms come up prior to searching. Click the magnifying glass to search.

By default, your search results will include any source that has any mention of your search terms. This will include book, chapter, and section titles.

After searching, you can filter your results on the left side of the page. You can refine by category, publication year, authors, publishers, or language.

Let's try an advanced search to narrow down our results.

Click into the search box and, instead of typing, click "Advanced Search."

By using an advanced search, we can narrow our results by book, section, or chapter titles that include certain words.

Now that the Advanced Search Box has appeared, let's specify the rules for our search.

Let's search for only book titles with the exact words "project management."

Under the "Any Content" drop down box, select "Book Title" from the list of options.

Under the next drop down box, select "Contains exactly these words."

Finally, type "project management" in the search box.

Click Search.

You should see the number of results decrease, making them much more easy to navigate.

Click the back button until it returns you to the Business E-Books LibGuide.

Let's explore another collection.

Click Springer Link E-Books.

Springer Link E-Books also allows you to search for chapter and book titles.

When you reach the Springer homepage, you'll see that you can browse by discipline or perform searches--similar to Safari.

Let's search for "project management" in Springer.

Click in the search box, type "project management," and click the magnifying glass to search.

You'll see a great many results with this search.

Again, you can refine your search on the left side of the page. You can refine by content type, discipline, and more. It also gives you the number of results for each type, which can be helpful.

Let's practice.

Under "Content Type," click "Book."

Under "Discipline," click "Business & Management."

Now that we've searched for only Business & Management books about Project Management, you should notice many fewer and more applicable results to navigate.

From here, you can refine further by using sub-disciplines.

Don't forget to check out some of the other eBook collections!

Thank you for using this tutorial!